Working Alone Sucks

That’s an exaggeration, of course, but what I’m really trying to say is that working alone on a project for an extended period of time really sucks the life out of me.  With my busy schedule this term, I’m finding it really hard to find time to work on Inventor IDE.  Next term I’ll be working on it as part of a directed study, and I do have a hard deadline of the end of 2008 for getting built-in assembling fully functional, but progress has been slow.

I got asked about teamwork in an interview with Microsoft’s Photosynth group, so that got me really thinking about team dynamics.  At the very least, on any sizable project, having someone else to bounce ideas off of is a must.  Since for assignments 1 and 2, the professor of the course I’m helping with hasn’t posted my alternate assignments, until I get built-in assembling working and start posting about it widely, I won’t even have many users off of which  to bounce ideas about Inventor IDE.

Beyond that, assuming there’s an actual team, there must be some sort of division of labour such that what needs to get done gets done without losing the members.  I’ve started organizing the team for the next big Code Cortex project, codenamed Own OS, and it’s interesting trying to figure out how to split up the work and to keep people interested.  Conveniently, the team came up with a great idea: each person investigates a device protocol and goes through developing support for that device.  It works perfectly, since getting a device to work is one of the really satisfying parts of OS development, and it only depends on having as much of a bootloader as I’ve already got.  I can then focus on getting some of the other parts of the OS up and running without everyone waiting for me.

Other good news includes that I’ve found someone quite eager to get a third (unnamed) project off the ground, and I may have found another person to help with Inventor IDE next term.  It’ll take lots of work to get things going, but I’m optimistic that we can find a way to make things work, together.

~ by Neil Dickson on October 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
