Inventor IDE Debugging

First, I’d like to say sorry that I haven’t yet posted the contest that I’ve planned to hold.  I’ve now got a source of legal advice, and since the first contest is for a fairly important-but-simple component of Inventor IDE, I don’t want to risk screwing it up until I get a lawyer’s ideas for it.  I might hold the competition on Top Coder, but it looks like they’ve changed their model of letting people host contests.  If I can find someone up for making some really cool interactive GUI components, I could contract it out to them, but I’d like to see what different people can come up with, since there’s a lot of room for creativity.

Also, sorry to those who’ve experienced bugs with Inventor IDE alpha 5.  I was going to make a special build just for one bug reporter so that I can fix a freezing bug that I can’t reproduce on my machine.  However there should really be a more extensive debugging system, logging information to files that can help me identify what went wrong when I get a bug report.  As such, I’ll release the regular version with logging of error information, and a special debugging version that will periodically check for model consistency and log extensively, even when no error has occurred, so that errors can be fixed more easily.  I can’t give a reliable ETA on this release yet, since I’ve got a lot going on this week, but it’s something I really need for future releases anyway.

~ by Neil Dickson on April 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
